Skip to content

Kelaniya : where life meets religion…

December 22, 2013

bits and pieces on photo

Sri Lanka is one of the oldest surviving Buddhist countries where 70% of its population are Buddhists. Kelaniya, a suburb about 10km away from Colombo is known for the buddhist temple built on the banks of kelani river and holds a significant place in the life of any Buddhist. It is believed that Buddha had visited Kelaniya and therefore it is said that all your sins will be washed away if you visit and worship the Kelaniya Temple at least once in your lifetime (of course it is just a saying but it just shows how much importance the temple holds).

For me Kelaniya resembles two things. My family, as I grew up in Kelaniya and the Kelaniya Temple. I am not a diehard Buddhist but still I grew up having a special place in my heart for the temple. I love visiting it every time I come down.  To go there in the evening and sit in a corner…

View original post 139 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

